Learning and development strategy and training levels

The purpose of this document is to set out Nottinghamshire Safeguarding Children Partnership (NSCP) approach to learning and development and therefore ensure every agency is meeting their obligation under Section 11 of the Children Act 2004 in respect of safeguarding training for those working with children and young people. It therefore looks at both learning and training events coordinated and delivered by the NSCP and in addition partner agencies responsibilities.

Training Pathway

Training mission statement

We aim to deliver high quality, up-to-date safeguarding training that will enable participants to keep safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children at the centre of their work.

All inter-agency programmes will take into account the individual rights of both participants and the children and families served with regards to race, culture, gender, experience of disability, language, sexuality and sexual orientation.

Training levels

To ensure that staff attend courses which are at an appropriate level to their role and responsibilities NSCP have set out 4 Target Groups of which all courses are aligned to.

The table below summarises these and illustrates example of the audience for each target group. It is the responsibility of the agency to decide which group a member of staff is place in depending on their role within that organisation.

Training course levels and roles

Level 1

For all staff whose role brings them into contact with children, young people and families, including staff who may only have infrequent contact. All staff within the workforce are expected to complete mandatory training at this level in order to raise awareness of safeguarding issues (this is often provided in-house).


Librarians, GP receptionists, community advice centre staff, housing maintenance staff, environmental officers, leisure centre staff, ground staff, volunteers.

Level 2

For all staff who work regularly with children, young people and families/ carers who may be in a position to identify concerns about maltreatment and may be asked to contribute to safeguarding processes.


All health clinic and hospital staff, housing staff, sports development officers, police other than in specialist roles, faith group staff, play-scheme workers, volunteers.

Level 3

For all staff who work predominantly with children and/ or parents/ carers and could potentially contribute to assessing, planning, intervening and reviewing the needs of children and young people, including parental capacity, where there are safeguarding concerns.


Paediatricians and paediatric staff, GP's, youth workers, early years staff, residential staff, midwives, school nurses, health visitors, probation staff, youth offending staff, social workers, police, education staff, family service staff, team managers.

Level 4

For staff who have responsibilities for supervising or guiding staff in safeguarding processes, including coordinating assessments and staff with managerial positions.


Designated safeguarding professionals and leads, front line managers, operational managers, strategic managers, social care staff who work with complex cases, child protection coordinators, board members.

Scroll to top of page